About us and our home

We are Bente (born 1973) and Uffe (born 1971) both educated as geographers/biologist. Bente is currently working with GIS (Geographic information System) in a municipality. Uffe is currently working with GIS at Banedanmark (Rail Net Denmark).
We love nature and therefore we spent most of our spare time at the island Møn where we have our second home.

We have done two exchanges - one to Canada and one to Greece. We are looking forward to experience a lot of other interesting places. Therefore we can offer an exchange with our house in the country or with our apartment just outside Copenhagen. For longer exchanges we can arrange a combination of both offers. Read more below

Exchange in the countryside
Our house is located in a leisure area at the base of a peninsula called Ulvshale. We bougth the house in 2006 but it was build in 1992. We haven't done anything to the house - well we have painted it in another colour - but the garden we have changed completely. Before it was a boring lawn but we have turned it into a bird friendly garden. We have primarily chosen plants you will be able to find at the surrounding localities. The aim is to get a lot of birds into the garden because we also are licensend bird ringers/banders from Zoological Museum - Natural History Museum of Denmark. Untill now we have ringed a total of 35 different species (e.g. most common is Great Tit, Blackbird, Blue Tit but even a sparrowhawk). Many birds are passing over our garden and until now we have observed more than 100 species and among those is white-tailed eagle, peregrine falcon, geese, ducks and passerines. [the bird list].

You will find a variaty of habitats ranging from forests, heath, meadows, farmland and shallow waters in the north around Ulvshale and the small island Nyord. All within short distance from our house. Ulvshale, Nyord and the eastern part of Moen are excellent areas for bird watching, botany (specialty is ca. 20 species of orchids). The island Møn is especially known for the spectacular chalk cliffs on the east coast. We garanty you'll find fossils there.

The house isn't luxurious but we think it's comfortable. Kitchen with electric cooking, electric oven, microwave, fridge with freezer, dish washer, washing machine, nice drinking water directly from the tab. Bathroom with shower, wc. Two bedrooms with double bed.

The beach is only 200 meters from the house, what we appreciate because we easely can pull our seakayaks to the water instead of putting them on top of the car, as we used to in the 'old' days.

[Photos - The house and garden]

Exchange in the city of Copenhagen
If you live in the nice nature every day, and you want to experience something different - like the life in a city you can make an exchange with our small apartment (56 m2 and only accomodation for 2 people) situated 10 km north of Copenhagen City. We live close to shopping, restaurants and cafe's. In 10 min. on foot you are in Lyngby mose an area of forest, lake and streams. Here you can enjoy nature, visit the caf at the lake, sailing canoe and see the water mills, where the Danish industry arose. There are only 5 minutes walk to public transportation (S-train) which takes you into the centre of Copenhagen city in about 20 min. Copenhagen has a lot of Tourist attractions There are many historical buildings and ancient streets, museums and galleries, the old cosy Tivoli Garden and a resident monarchy that is the oldest in the world, the Danish capital has a lot of different attractions to suit all tastes. Our flat isn't luxurious but we think it's comfortable it is on the 3th floor no lift. Kitchen with gas cooking, electric oven, microwave, fridge with freezer, nice drinking water directly from the tab. Bathroom with shower, wc, washing machine. Bedroom with a double bed. Livingroom with dinnertable with a view. You can access a balcony facing east from the livingroom and the bedroom, and it is very usefull at sunny mornings.

[Photos - The apartment and surroundings]